Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330

Database Descriptions

The following databases are available on the public access PCs at Cook Memorial Public Library District libraries. Bring a valid library card from any Illinois library to use a PC. Access from outside the library is restricted to Cook Memorial cardholders only. Databases labeled "in library use only" may be used from library PCs.

Access Newspaper Archive (in library use only)
Use this archive to view, save and print articles dating from 1759 to 1977 from smaller newspapers. The collection is far from complete, but a rich resource for some areas. Use the Advanced Search to see if a newspaper from a specific city is included.

Amazing Animals of the World
A comprehensive reference resource offering students of all ages reliable access to information about the animal kingdom with 1,200 articles complete with animal sounds, maps, and photos of animals in their natural habitats.

America the Beautiful
America the Beautiful is designed for all grade levels.  It includes detailed information on the economies, culture, history, and government of each of the states and major territories of the United States of America.          .

American National Biography
Profiles of thousands of men and women who have influenced United States history.  Includes illustrations, useful links, and a powerful search engine.

America's Newspapers
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Paid ads are excluded.

Ancestry Library Edition (in library use only)
Access to more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names. Included are the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.

Annals of America
Primary source material on American history including speeches, articles, memoirs, poems and images.

Biography Resource Center
Information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Britannica Online
Information from the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year and selected web sites.  Recommended for high school age and above.
Britannica Online for Kids
Encyclopedia, dictionary and magazine articles for students in Kindergarten through 5th Grade.

Business & Company Resource Center  
Business and Company Resource Center brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.

Chicago Sun-Times
Searchable archive of Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1986 to the present.

Chicago Tribune
Searchable archive of Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.

Chicago Tribune Historical Archive
From Newsbank - contains 2.5 million obituaries and death notices, front pages from 1900 - 1984, and selected articles from the newspaper's clipping files. Paid ads are excluded.

Chicago Tribune Historical Database
From Proquest - search the full newspaper, including advertisements, from 1849 - 1985.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The CLCD is a subscription-based information retrieval service designed to meet the needs of organizations and individuals who work with children's books
 
College Source
College Source contains information on over 15,000 colleges including complete course catalogs in their original page formats and web site links.

CQ Researcher
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science.
Features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts round out each report.

CultureGrams Kids States Edition
Introduces elementary-age children to all 50 states, with information about each state's climate, geography, resources, economy, history, population, and government.

CultureGrams Kids World Edition
A resource designed to help children of all ages learn about cultural and historical information, including climate, population, languages, holidays, education, and government for 50 countries.

CultureGrams World Edition
Concise, reliable cultural information for teens and adults on more than 175 countries of the world. 

D&B Million Dollar Database
Provides information including 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies on over 1,500,000 U.S. and Canadian public and private businesses.

Daily Herald
The Daily Herald database is a searchable archive of articles from the past 15 years.

e Library
eLibrary Plus is a comprehensive research tool designed for the novice user.  Results can include journal articles, popular magazines, newspaper articles, TV and radio transcripts, photographs, maps, and reference and historical sources.

Encicopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
World Book Online features articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps recommended for elementary students in English or Spanish. Let Atlas the Dog help you explore!

Encyclopedia Americana
45,000 full text articles with hypertext links to guide users to research-oriented web sites.  Recommended for Grades 8 and up
.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) The premier database for education research. See also this version: ERIC for more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents previously available through fee-based services only, are now available for free.

FirstSearch
Cook patrons have access to 16 First Search databases, including WorldCat, an international catalog of library holdings; ABI Inform for business, ERIC for education; Medline for medical journal citations; and Periodical Abstracts and Wilson Select for full-text articles on many subjects.

General Reference Center Gold
Articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals on current events, popular culture, business and industry, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Genline (in library use only)
The premier database for Swedish genealogy, Genline's Swedish Church Records archive consists of digitized photographic quality images scanned from microfilm of the original church records from the 16th-20th century. These records include births, deaths, marriages, confirmations, moving in and out records, and household examinations.

Grolier Encyclopedia
Based on the Academic American Encyclopedia and updated monthly, this online encyclopedia contains articles, bibliographies and hyperlinks.  Strengths include biographical information and coverage of American cities.  Recommended for Grades 5 through 8.  

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, and prescription drugs.

Health Learning Center at Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Access medical reference books full-text online. Type in your zip code and then click on the words Search Library.

HeritageQuest Online
Census data, family records, local histories and the PERSI magazine index. This collection assembles every extant U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.

Historical Newspapers Extra Edition
Newspaper articles about people and events from 1880 to 2002.

Hoover's Online (in library use only)
Comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence.

Lands and Peoples
Online encyclopedia on countries and cultures with special features for students.

Learning Express Library   ( Learn-A-Test)
Track your progress and scores as you take any of the practice tests offered.  Tests include the SAT, ACT, GED, LSAT, GMAT, ASVAB, GRE, career tests for many jobs, and U.S. citizenship tests.

Legal Forms
Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Lit Finder
Lit Finder is a database of poems, speeches, stories, essays, and plays that can be searched by title, author, subject, or keyword.  Some are available in full text versions.  

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors and titles from every age and literary discipline.

Medline
Citations and abstracts for articles in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

Morningstar
Data and analyst reports on mutual funds and stocks.

NetLibrary
A collection of over 1,500 eAudiobooks that can be downloaded and listened to on a PC or portable device.  See our eAudiobook pages for more information.

New Book of Knowledge
This online encyclopedia for children in grades 3-5 includes pictures, facts, Internet links, magazine articles, projects, and experiments.

New Book of Popular Science
Geared toward students, this source contains easy-to-read articles plus photographs, maps, illustrations, tables, and weekly coverage of many science topics.  

New England Ancestors
Hundreds of searchable databases including vital records, cemetery transcriptions, marriage and death indexes, family histories and more.

New York Times
Search all New York Times articles from January 1, 2000 to the present.

New York Times (Historical)
The complete paper—cover-to-cover—with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF, from its first issue in 1851 up to 2002.

NoveList
Enter your favorite authors or titles, or describe the type of books you like to read, and NoveList will provide a list of suggested titles with full text reviews and summaries. Novelist K-8
Discover fiction titles popular with young readers, browse hundreds of theme-oriented book lists for readers at all grade levels through Explore Fiction, and look for award-winning and recommended titles in Best Fiction.

La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
The Cumbre Encyclopedia is a complete online encyclopedia in Spanish.

Oxford English Dictionary
Online version of the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language.

Periodical Abstracts
Full-text articles and abstracts from general and academic periodicals.

Public Records Electronic Database
Search public records for new home purchases, new business starts, foreclosures, sales, and bankruptcies for Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties in Illinois. 

Read the Book
An interactive website that lets you choose a great book to read by grade level and/or topic; tells what the story is about; lets you rate the book; and offers some literature-based games to play.

Reference USA
Searchable database of information on over 12 million businesses and 120 million U.S. residents.

Sanborn Maps (in library use only)
Large scale plans of a city or town drawn to the scale of 50 feet to an inch.  Search the archive of maps from 1867-1970.

SIRS Discoverer
Intended for middle and elementary school students, this database is made up of selected magazine and newspaper articles and U.S. government documents on a wide variety of subjects and current events.

SIRS Researcher
SIRS Researcher is intended for high school age students.  It includes thousands of full text articles from newspapers and magazines on social, scientific, historical, political, and economic issues, plus World Almanac excerpts, maps of the world, and current event information.

Small Business Resource Center
Covers the major areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S & P Net Advantage combines 11 of Standard and Poor’s investment products including Stock Reports, the Outlook, Industry Surveys, Bond Guide and Mutual Funds.

State Geography (in library use only)
Facts, biographies, history, pictures, and maps for each of the U.S. States.  

Student Resource Center
Essays, full-text magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as photographs and other resources for students in grades 6 through 12.

Wall Street Journal
Type in any topic or company name and find all the relevant WSJ articles from the past 15 years.

Well-Connected Health Reports
Well-Connected is a library of reports on common diseases and wellness issues. Each report is an in-depth discussion of the latest information on treatments, risk factors, causes, diagnostic tests, and preventative measures.

Westlaw (in library use only)
Search the U.S. Code, U.S. Supreme Court Cases, U.S. Congressional and Administrative News, Illinois Administrative Code, Illinois Law and Practice, Illinois Forms
.

What Do I Read Next
Search by title, author, subject, full text, time period, geographic location, character, and reading level for reading suggestions. The Help Me Find a Book search provides suggestions based on some of your favorite titles or topics.

Wilson Select Plus
Full text articles and citations in science, humanities, education and business from U.S. and international publications, including academic and trade journals.

World Almanac
This fundamental reference resource provides brief facts and statistics.

World Book
World Book Online features articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps.  Recommended for Grades 4 and above.

World Book Kids (Encicopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos)
World Book Online features articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps recommended for elementary students in English or Spanish. Let Atlas the Dog help you explore!

World Cat
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide, featuring holdings in Illinois libraries and beyond.

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map