Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330

Business/Investing Resources

…selected by Cook Memorial Librarians

Databases  |  Web sites

Databases
The following subscription databases are paid for by Cook Library and available
for home use by Cook Library patrons only. After selecting the database, you'll be
asked for your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).

New: Cook Memorial's Business Corner newsletter. Sign up to receive it six times a year in your email.

 General  |  Company Information  |  Investing | Marketing

General
Legal Forms
Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Small Business Resource Center
Covers the major areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more.

Wall Street Journal
Type in any topic and find all the relevant WSJ articles from the past 15 years.

Company Information
Business & Company Resource Center
Articles, press releases, investment reports, company histories, product information, industry and company rankings, as well as financial and industry overviews.

D & B Million Dollar Database
Information on over 1,500,000 U. S. and Canadian public and private businesses includes 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.

Hoover's Online (in library use only)
Comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence.

Reference USA
Directory information on over 12 million businesses and 120 million U.S. residents. Use to find customers, suppliers and competitors.

Wall Street Journal
Type in any company name and find all the relevant WSJ articles from the past 15 years.

Return to top

Investing
Morningstar
Data and analyst reports on mutual funds and stocks, plus a portfolio x-ray tool.

Standard and Poors Net Advantage
Combines 11 of Standard and Poor’s investment products including Stock Reports, the Outlook, Industry Surveys, Stock Guide, Bond Guide and Mutual Funds.
 

Marketing
Public Records Electronic Database
Search public records for new home purchases, new business starts, foreclosures, sales, and bankruptcies for Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties in Illinois. 

Return to top


Web sites
The following web sites are recommended by Cook Memorial librarians for the quality of their content.

Investments  |  Finance  |  Local  |  Other

Investments
Big Charts
Comprehensive investment charting service including historical stock prices.

EDGAR SEC filings, 10Ks, 10Qs.

Mutual Fund Investor’s Center

SEC Investor Information Advice from the SEC on investing wisely, choosing a broker and avoiding fraud.

Return to top

Finance
Foreign Exchange Rates
Covers 1990 – present.

Money Advisor Financial Calculators Tools to figure out mortgages, auto loans.

Return to top

Local
GLMV Chamber of Commerce Libertyville, Mundelein, Vernon Hills, Green Oaks

Libertyville Department of Economic Development Directory of over 800 local businesses plus links to additional village, county and state business information sources.

Vernon Hills Department of Economic Development Directory of Shopping Centers and Office and Industrial spaces in Vernon Hills.

Largest employers in Lake County Link to the websites of major local companies.

Crain’s Chicago Business Online version of popular local magazine.

Illinois Secretary of State Business Services Corporate name availability, forms.

Return to top

Other
Bureau of Labor Statistics Inflation, consumer spending, employment, wages.

Doing Business Data provided by the World Bank covers business regulations and their enforcement in 178 countries.

Export.gov Learn about major markets as well as how to export and find answers to tariff and logistics questions. From the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Free Patents Online Site for free patent searching.

Gary Price’s List of Lists Ranked lists of top companies in a variety of categories.

GlobalEDGE Connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

New York Times on the Web : Business

Patents and Trademarks Search the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office’s databank.

Salary.com Typical salaries by job category and location.

SCORE The Small Business Administration’s site offering counseling to those starting small businesses.

Thomas Register Search for products, services, company names or brand names; includes catalogs for some companies.

Trade Shows Search by industry or city.

Valuation Resources Links to resources for over 250 industries, including issues, trends, outlook, financial ratios, benchmarking, and compensation surveys.

Return to top

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map