Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330
Education Resources

...selected by Cook Memorial Librarians

Databases  |  Web sites

Databases
The following subscription databases are paid for by Cook Library and available for
home use for Cook patrons only. After selecting the database, you will be asked for
your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).

College Source
Contains information on over 15,000 colleges including complete course catalogs in their original page formats and web site links.
.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents previously available through fee-based services only, are now available for free.
See also this version: ERIC

Learning Express Library
  ( Learn-A-Test)
Track your progress and scores as you take any of the practice tests offered.  Tests include the SAT, ACT, GED, LSAT, GMAT, ASVAB, GRE, career tests for many jobs, and U.S. citizenship tests.


Web sites
The following web sites are recommended by Cook Memorial librarians for the quality of their content.

College  |   School Profiles  |  For Parents  |  Local Schools  |  Other

College

America's Best Colleges From U.S. News and World Reports.

Best 366 College Rankings From Peterson's guides.

CollegeNet Over 1500 customized Internet admissions applications.

College Rankings Draws together and provides context to various college rankings.

FAFSA Apply online for federal student aid.

Finaid The smart student’s guide to financial aid.

CollegeZone  Web site of the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

North Suburban Higher Education Consortium College courses offered by a variety of institutions in the northern suburbs.

Peterson's Planner Searchable guide for choosing schools from K - 12, college, graduate school, continuing education, and study abroad.

The Princeton Review  Find the best school for you.

University Center of Lake County Offering courses from 12 area colleges.


School Profiles

SchoolMatters Performance and staffing information and community demographics for individual schools, plus tools to compare schools at the local, state and national levels.

Parents
Resources for parents, including homeschoolers.

Local Schools
Contact information for area schools, from preschool through college.

Other
Elderhostel Courses for senior citizens.

English as a Second Language classes provided by Mundelein High School

Illinois Private Business and Vocational Schools Directory  

Illinois State Board of Education Job Bank Search teaching and other school personnel job openings throughout the state.

National Center for Educational Statistics

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map