Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330

Government and Law Resources

...selected by Cook Memorial Librarians

Databases  |  Web sites

Databases
The following subscription databases are paid for by Cook Library and available for
home use by Cook Library patrons only. After selecting the database, you'll be asked
for your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).

America the Beautiful
Detailed information on the economies, culture, history, and government of each of
the states and major territories of the United States of America.

Congressional Quarterly Researcher
In depth treatment of topics ranging from government and legal issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts round out each report.

Legal Forms
Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues that you can complete online and print.

Westlaw (in library use only)
Search the U.S. Code, U.S. Supreme Court Cases, U.S. Congressional and Administrative News, Illinois Administrative Code, Illinois Law and Practice, Illinois Forms
and more.

See also Magazine and Newspaper Article Resources;   Quick Reference Resources       

Web sites
The government-related web sites listed below will link you to the information you need
to become an informed citizen and voter. Voter registration is a service offered at Cook Memorial Library’s Reference Desk. To register, bring two forms of identification, one of which shows your current address. Remember that registration closes 27 days before each election.

Elected Officials | Tax Forms | Lawyer Locators | Federal | State 

Elected Officials
Local, State and Federal Officials Complete list of names, addresses, phone numbers, e-mail addresses and legislative district maps.

Tax Forms
Federal Tax Forms


Illinois State Tax Forms
 
State Tax Forms for other states

Lawyer Locators
Leading Lawyers Network Illinois attorneys recommended by their peers in a statewide survey.

Martindale-Hubble Lawyer Locator Profiles of attorneys by name, geographic location and specialty.


Federal

Center for Responsive Politics Information on contributions to candidates.

Fedlaw An extensive group of sites for researching federal laws.

Findlaw Comprehensive web locator with links to legal subjects, schools, laws, government and professional information.

First Gov Good general starting point, includes extensive information for businesses.

Supreme Court Decisions Text of many historic decisions and all opinions since 1990.

Thomas Library of Congress site for legislative information.

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Senate

The White House


State
Illinois Compiled Statutes  Searchable, full-text Illinois laws.

19th Circuit Court Download court forms, research court opinions, find information regarding jury duty, pro se litigation and much more.

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map