Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330

History and Geography Resources

...selected by Cook Memorial Librarians

Databases  |  Web sites

Databases
The following subscription databases are paid for by Cook Library and available
for home use by Cook Library patrons only. After selecting the database, you'll be
asked for your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).

Access Newspaper Archive (in library use only)
Use this archive to view, save and print articles dating from 1759 to 1977 from smaller newspapers. The collection is far from complete, but a rich resource for some areas. Use the Advanced Search to see if a newspaper from a specific city is included.

America The Beautiful
Includes detailed information on the economies, culture, history, and government of each of the states and major territories of the United States of America. All grades.

Annals of America
Primary source material on American history including speeches, articles, memoirs, poems and images.

Chicago Tribune Historical Archive
From Newsbank - best source for Chicago Tribune obituaries.

Chicago Tribune Historical Database
From Proquest - search the full newspaper, including advertisements, from 1849 - 1985.

CultureGrams
Choose from the World, States, or Kids' editions to research history, geography and cultures.

Historical Newspapers Extra Edition
Newspaper articles about people and events from 1880 to 2002.

Lands & Peoples
Online encyclopedia on countries and cultures with special features for students.

New York Times (Historical)
The complete paper—cover-to-cover—with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF, from its first issue in 1851 up to 2002.
.

State Geography (in library use only)
Facts, biographies, history, pictures, and maps for each of the U.S. states.
 

Student Resource Center
For students in grades six through twelve. Select Geography & Cultures Search or History Search from the main menu.


Web sites
The following web sites are recommended by Cook Memorial librarians for the quality of their content.

Maps | Countries and States | Local History | U.S. History | World History  
Primary Sources | Other

Maps
Historical Maps from the Library of Congress

Illinois Atlas Thematic maps of Illinois and the U.S.

The Map Library Maps of countries showing towns, roads, railroads and airports.


Countries and States
50 States

Background Notes Facts about the land, people, history, government, politics, and economy of countries around the world. Published by the U.S. State Department.

BBC Country Profiles

Canadian Resource Page 

Constitution Finder Constitutions, charters, ammendments, and related documents for over 200 countries.

Country Studies In-depth reports on nations.

The Middle East History, culture, maps, politics.

Portals to the World Information on the nations of the world from the Library of Congress.

World Fact Book  Country information from the CIA.

Return to top  

Local History
Cook Memorial Public Library's Local History Page Online exhibits, historical post cards, obituary index.

Encyclopedia of Chicago Essays, maps, politics, entertainment and more from the Chicago Historical Society.

Return to top

U. S. History 
A Hypertext on American History An outline of American history with links to documents, biographies, and other related internet sites.

Presidents of the United States

The American Civil War Homepage

Native American Resources  

Return to top

World History
Middle Ages

Renaissance

Trenches on the Web (World War I)

Pearl Harbor

Korean War

Cold War

The Wars for Vietnam Includes primary source material.  

Return to top


Primary Sources
Amdocs Documents from American history.

American Memory  Library of Congress documents and pictures.

American Rhetoric Growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events.

Avalon Project at Yale Law School  Documents in law, history and government.

Documenting the American South Primary sources including pamphlets, letters, diaries, photographs and personal narratives dealing with African American history, the Civil War, the Antebellum South, and Southern literature.

Eurodocs Western European historical documents.

Hanover Historical Texts Project Primary sources from around the world, from ancient to modern times.

Historical Text Archive Original research articles and e-books as well as primary sources - click on "Links" for the primary source material.

Inaugural Addresses of the U.S.Presidents

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook

Internet Medieval History Sourcebook

Internet Modern History Sourcebook

U.S. Historical Documents

Return to top

Other History Topics
Best of History Web Sites Portal includes lesson plans, teacher guides and more.

The History Channel
Return to top

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map