Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330

Language and Literature Resources

                                    ...selected by Cook Memorial Librarians

Databases  |  Web sites

Databases
The following subscription databases are paid for by Cook Library and available for home use by Cook Library patrons only. After selecting the database, you'll be asked
for your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).

Lit Finder
Search for poems, stories, essays, plays and speeches by title, author, subject, or keyword.  Some are available in full text.

Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

NetLibrary
A collection of over 1,500 eAudiobooks that can be downloaded and listened to on a PC or portable device.  See our eAudiobook page for more information.

Novelist
Enter your favorite authors or titles, or describe the type of books you like to read, and get a list of suggested titles with reviews.

Oxford English Dictionary
The most comprehensive dictionary in the English language.

Student Resource Center
For students in grades six through twelve. Select Literature Search from the main menu.

What Do I Read Next?
Search by title, author, subject, keyword, time period, geographic location, character, and reading level for reading suggestions.  


Web sites
The following web sites are recommended by Cook Memorial librarians for the quality of their content.

Language  |  Literature

Language
American Sign Language Requires QuickTime plug-in.

Elements of Style by William Strunk Classic reference source for composition and usage.

Ethnologue, Languages of the World Encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages.

Merriam Webster Dictionary

Your Dictionary.com  600 dictionaries in 150 languages.  


Literature

Based on the Book Over 1200 books, novels, short stories, and plays that have been made into motion pictures.  Search by book title or author, movie title, or movie release year.

Bestseller lists 1900 - 1995 Top ten fiction and nonfiction titles for each year.

Cliffs Notes Synopses and commentaries on classic works of literature. Read or print them for free or pay to download.

Great Writers Biographical sketches; writing prizes and winners.

Illinois Poet Laureate Poet Laureate Kevin Stein’s site features works by Illinois poets.

The Literature Network  Searchable online literature – books, poems, quotations, the Bible, Shakespeare.

New York Times Book Revew

Online Classics Full-text classic novels.

Poetry 180: A Poem a Day Former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins’ site for students.

Shakespeare’s Complete Works

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map