|
Magazine and Newspaper Articles Resources
...selected by Cook Memorial Librarians
Databases | Web sites | List of Cook's Print Periodical Holdings
Databases
The following subscription databases are paid for by Cook Library and available for home use by Cook Library patrons only. After selecting the database, you'll be asked for your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).
Access Newspaper Archive (in library use only)
Use this archive to view, save and print articles dating from 1759 to 1977 from smaller newspapers. The collection is far from complete, but a rich resource for some areas. Use the Advanced Search to see if a newspaper from a specific city is included.
America’s Newspapers
Archives include: The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Denver Post, Los Angeles Times, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, USA Today, and The Washington Post.
Chicago Sun-Times
Searchable archive of Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1986 to the present.
Chicago Tribune
Searchable archive of Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive
From Newsbank - best source for Chicago Tribune obituaries.
Chicago Tribune Historical Database
From Proquest - search the full newspaper, including advertisements, from 1849 - 1985.
CQ Researcher
In depth treatment of topics ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts round out each report.
Daily Herald
Searchable archive of articles from 1997 to the present.
eLibrary
Journal articles, popular magazines, newspaper articles, TV and radio transcripts, photographs, and maps.
General Reference Center Gold
Hundreds of full text periodicals, newspapers, and major reference sources focusing on business, current events, popular culture, sports and entertainment.
Historical Newspapers Extra Edition
New York Times
Full-text coverage of the Times from 2000 to present. Includes Magazine and Book Review sections.
New York Times (Historical)
Periodical Abstracts
Abstracts and full text articles from general and academic journals.
Sirs Discoverer
Intended for middle and elementary school students, this database is made up of selected magazine and newspaper articles and U.S. government documents on a wide variety of subjects.
Sirs Researcher
Intended for high school students, it includes thousands of full text articles from newspapers and magazines on social, scientific, historical, political and economic issues, plus World Almanac excerpts, and current event information.
Student Resource Center
Database of reference essays, full-text magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as photographs and other resources for students in grades six through twelve.
Wall Street Journal
Searchable archive of articles from 1984 to the present.
Wilson Select Plus
Full text articles and citations in science, humanities, education and business from U.S. and international publications, including academic and trade journals.
Return to top
Web sites
The following web sites are recommended by Cook Memorial Librarians for the quality of their content.
Government Documents in the News Current events research.
LookSmart The Web’s largest free articles database.
NewsVoyager Links to papers from all over the world.
Pioneer Press Libertyville Review, etc.
World Edition of the BBC Updated every minute of every day.
|