Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330

Quick Reference Resources

  …selected by Cook Memorial Librarians

Databases  |  Web sites

Databases
The following online encyclopedias, dictionaries and almanacs are paid for by Cook Library and available for home use for Cook patrons only. After selecting the database, you will be asked for your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).

Britannica Online
The complete Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year and selected web sites.  Recommended for high school age and above.

Britannica Online for Kids Encyclopedia, dictionary and magazine articles for students in Kindergarten through 5th Grade.

Encyclopedia Americana  
Provides access to 45,000 full text articles with hypertext links to guide users to research-oriented web sites.  Recommended for Grade 8 and up.  

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
Based on the Academic American Encyclopedia and updated monthly.  Strengths include biographical information and coverage of American cities.  Recommended for Grades 5 through 8.  

Lands and Peoples
Encyclopedia of countries, cultures and current events for students.

New Book of Knowledge
This online encyclopedia for children in grades 3-5 includes pictures, facts, Internet links, magazine articles, projects, and experiments.

New Book of Popular Science  
Focuses on science topics.  The easy-to-read articles include photographs, maps, illustrations, and tables.

La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre
A complete encyclopedia in Spanish
.

Oxford English Dictionary
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language.  

Reference USA
Reference USA, a searchable database of information on over 100 million U.S. residents as well as 12 millions businesses, is a good source for phone numbers.

World Almanac
This fundamental reference resource provides brief facts and statistics.

World Book
Encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps.  Recommended for Grades 4 and above.  

Return to top

 
Web sites
The following web sites are recommended by Cook Memorial librarians for the quality of their content.

Places to Start  |   Reaching People  |   Research Help | Miscellaneous

Web Portals - Places to start
Internet Public Library Links to a wide variety of sites, especially strong in homework help.

Librarian's Index to the Internet Access to reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet content.

RefDesk Indexes and reviews sites and provides help navigating the Web.

Return to top

Reaching People
Anywho Online Directory Reverse lookup, toll free.

GetHuman 500 Database Tips on shortcuts to reach a human being by phone at 500 major companies.

Go Toll Free Internet 800 Directory.

InfoSpace White and yellow pages, email addresses.

Postal Information Resources Includes international zip codes.

The Switchboard U.S. white and yellow pages, toll-free directory.

Telephone Directories on the Web Comprehensive list of world directories.

Telephone Prefix Locator  Find out where a phone number is located.

U.S.Postal Service Look up zip codes and more.

World Pages Has everything: residential and business, toll-free, reverse directories, plus links to directories from other countries.

Return to top

Research Help

Citation Machine Fill in a form with your bibliographic information and it will be formatted into a citation.

Citing Sources How to cite sources in research papers: APA, MLA, Turabian.

LEO Get help with your research paper. Learn how to cite sources, use quotations, avoid plagiarism, organize your thoughts, revise your paper, and improve the sound of your writing.

What is Plagiarism?

What makes a web site good?

Miscellaneous
Acronym Finder Over 475,000 acronyms and abbreviations from business, technology, military, government, pop culture and science.

Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations

E-how Instructions on how to do just about anything.

Fedstats  Access to statistics produced by over 100 U.S. government agencies.

How Products Are Made Useful information for all age levels regarding how things are made.

Lottery USA  Latest winning numbers from all the states.

Old Farmer’s Almanac   Sun and moon rise and set.

Population Reference Bureau Topical demographic data..

Time Zone Converter

Who's Alive and Who's Dead

Return to top

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map