Library Catalogs

Cook Memorial Public Library Catalog

Area Library Catalogs

Libraries throughout Illinois and Beyond Search can be limited geographically.

 

 

Home
Learn about the library
Attend a program or class
Find a book, movie, or music
For kids
My account
Search our catalog
Contact us
Our community
Get involved
Site map
Chat with or email a live Illinois librarian 24/7!
Cook Memorial Library
413 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Libertyville, IL. 60048
847-362-2330
Research a topic
Evergreen Interim Library
290 Evergreen Drive
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
847-362-2330

Science and Math Resources

…selected by Cook Memorial Librarians

Databases  |  Web sites

Databases
The following subscription databases are paid for by Cook Library and available for home use for Cook patrons only. After selecting the database, you will be asked for your Cook Library card number (don't put spaces between the numbers).

Amazing Animals of the World
A comprehensive reference resource offering students of all ages reliable access to information about the animal kingdom with 1,200 articles complete with animal sounds, maps, and photos of animals in their natural habitats.

New Book of Popular Science
Online science encyclopedia geared toward students. Includes maps, illustrations, tables.

Student Resource Center
For students in grades six through twelve. Select Science & Health Search from the main menu.

Librarians' suggestion: Search for articles on science and math topics in Magazine and Newspaper Article Resources.

Web sites
The following web sites are recommended by Cook Memorial librarians for the quality of their content. 

Math  Animals  Astronomy  Chemistry  Dinosaurs  Earth Sciences  Ecology

 Science in General  Weather 

Math
Math Forum
 A valuable site for students of all ages that covers many levels and aspects of math. "Ask Dr. Math" provides homework questions and answers.

Measure 4 Measure  A useful collection of interactive sites that estimate, calculate and convert measurements for you.


Animals

NetVet and the Electronic Zoo
 Well-organized links to all kinds of animal and pet sites.

eNature  Online field guides to over 5000 species.

Lake County Forest Preserves' Species Database Learn about animal and plant species found in Lake County.


Astronomy

NASA  
Find a wealth of space science and technology information here, including daily news, archives, launch schedules and links to all NASA centers.

Windows to the Universe  A rich array of documents and graphics explore space and earth sciences.


Chemistry

WebElements  
A virtual periodic table provides comprehensive profiles of all the elements.


Dinosaurs

University of California Museum of Paleontology  
Adults and older children can navigate the web exhibits to find out about dinosaur history, collections and research.


Earth Sciences

U.S. Geological Survey  
Wide coverage of geology, water, biology and mapping are featured, including the latest hurricane and earthquake information.


Ecology

Envirolink  
A central clearinghouse for all types of environmental links, including green living and market sites.


Science in General

Science Buddies Helps students choose and complete science projects.

SciCentral  
Gateway to over 50,000 sites covering 120 specialties in science and engineering.

Science in the Headlines  This National Research Council site provides a daily summary of the top news issues, with links to press releases and summaries of expert reports.


Weather

Archive of Hurricane Seasons Data from the National Hurricane Center.

National Weather Service Detailed forecasts, air quality, flood warnings, climate data, maps, navigational charts.

The Weather Channel  
Find worldwide five day forecasts and view interactive maps to find breaking weather.

Weather Underground Includes daily historical weather data.

Home | Learn about the library | Research... | Attend... | Find... | For kids | My account
Search our catalog | Get involved | Our community | In the news | Contact us | Site map