## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF LIBRARY TRUSTEES OF THE COOK MEMORIAL PUBLIC LIBRARY DISTRICT

## July 28, 2020

**Call to order:** The special meeting of the Cook Memorial Public Library District was held virtually via Zoom on Tuesday, July 28, 2020 in accordance with the Governor's Executive Order No. 5 dated March 16, 2020. The meeting was called to order by President Wendy Vieth at 5:50 p.m. Trustees in attendance in addition to Ms. Vieth were Ann Oakley, Jim Larson, Phyllis Dobbs, and Karen Singer. Jen Banek was absent. In Ms. Banek's absence, Mr. Larson served as secretary pro-tem.

Staff members in attendance were Library Director David Archer, Business Manager Russ Cerqua, and Administrative Assistant Gabriella Pantle. Members of the community also attended.

**Adjourn to Closed Session:** At 5:52 p.m. Ms. Singer made a motion, seconded by Ms. Dobbs to adjourn to closed session as permitted by 5 ILCS 120/2c-3 to discuss the selection of a person to fill a public office. Roll call was as follows: Ayes; Ms. Vieth, Ms. Oakley, Mr. Larson, Ms. Dobbs, and Ms. Singer. Nays; none. Ms. Banek was absent. Motion carries.

**<u>Regular Meeting Resumes:</u>** The regular meeting resumed at 6:26 p.m. Ms. Banek joined the meeting at 5:54 p.m. during closed session.

Interviews for Vacant Trustee Position: The trustees interviewed the following trustee candidates:

- Bernard Tucker (6:30pm to 6:50pm)
- Kristin Marsden (6:55pm to 7:15pm)
- Laura Valenziano (7:20pm to 7:40pm)
- Barbara Rosenstock (7:45pm to 8:05pm)

Ms. Banek left the meeting at 7:45 p.m.

- Simon Jensen (8:10pm to 8:30pm)
- Kristin Palic (8:35pm to 8:55pm)

## Public Comment: None.

<u>Adjournment:</u> Mr. Larson made a motion, seconded by Ms. Dobbs to adjourn the meeting. Having no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:50 p.m. Roll call was as follows: Ayes; Ms. Vieth, Ms. Oakley, Mr. Larson, Ms. Dobbs, and Ms. Singer. Nays; none. Ms. Banek was absent. Motion carries.

Respectfully submitted,

James Larson, Secretary

Wendy Vieth, President