Skip to content

Today's Hours: Tue: 9 am – 9 pm

View Hours

Mon – Thu: 9 am – 9 pm
Fri: 9 am – 6 pm
Sat: 9 am – 5 pm
Sun: 12 – 5 pm

View Closures

Listings starting with A

America’s News

From Newsbank – Comprehensive news collection, ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international levels. Includes the Libertyville Review, Vernon Hills Review, Daily Herald, and Chicago Sun-Times.

American Ancestors

In-Library Use Only

Hundreds of searchable databases including vital records, cemetery transcriptions, marriage and death indexes, family histories, and more.

American National Biography

Profiles of thousands of people who have influenced United States history. Includes illustrations, useful links, and a powerful search engine.

Ancestry Library Edition

In-Library Use Only

Access more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names. Includes digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.

Arkiv Digital (in-library use only)

The largest private provider of Swedish church records and other historical records online. Includes church records, court records and inventory of estates. Access it from the Other Programs folder on the desktop of the public computers at the library.

AtoZdatabases

Use for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, job-hunting, and more.


Listings starting with B

Be A Voter

Nonpartisan guide to upcoming elections featuring registration information, links to sample ballots, local news coverage, and more. Specifically curated for residents of the Cook Memorial Public Library District. Compiled and maintained by CMPLD librarians.

Biography in Context

Biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Black Life in America

From Newsbank – The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

BookFLIX

Scholastic pairs favorite and familiar picture books with informative nonfiction books. For pre-K through grade 2.

Britannica Online

Information from the Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and selected websites.

Business Insights: Global

Articles, press releases, investment reports, company histories, product information, industry and company rankings, as well as financial and industry overviews.


Listings starting with C

Chicago Sun-Times

From Newsbank – Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

Chicago Tribune Historical Archive

Contains 2.5 million obituaries and death notices, front pages from 1900 through 1984, and selected articles from the newspaper’s clipping files. Paid ads are excluded.

Chilton Library

Online automotive repair manuals covering thousands of domestic and imported models of cars and light trucks from 1940 onward. Includes wiring diagrams, videos, animations, and photographs.

Consumer Reports

Research before you buy, using this helpful information source. Interactive features and frequent updates make the online version even more useful than the print.

Creativebug

More than 1,000 art and craft video classes taught by design experts and artists.
Mobile App Available*

CultureGrams Kids World Edition

A resource designed to help children of all ages learn about cultural and historical information, including climate, population, languages, holidays, education, and government for 50 countries.

Cypress Resume

Effortlessly create professional resumes. Features a library of professional statements and resume templates designed to grab the attention of employers.


Listings starting with D

Daily Herald

From Newsbank – Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

Demographics Now

Robust and highly detailed demographic data. Ideal for gaining consumer and market insight and creating reports.

Driving-Tests.org

Practice for the Illinois drivers license, permit, and senior citizens’ refresher tests. Also includes motorcycle and CDL practice tests.


Listings starting with E

ERIC

Education Resources Information Center. The premier database for education research.


Listings starting with F

Fold3

History and genealogy archives featuring original documents and photographs, including military records, city directories, and naturalization records.


Listings starting with G

Gale Business: Plan Builder

Step-by-step online planning tool for starting, managing and optimizing a business or nonprofit. Intuitive dashboard walks users through five areas of exploration to develop a business plan focused on long-term success.

Gale Courses

Six-week instructor-led online courses with quizzes and final exam. Enhance your skills in business, computer applications, medical and legal topics, personal development and more. A passing grade merits a certificate of completion.

GCFlearnfree.org

Creates and provides quality, innovative online learning to anyone who wants to improve technology skills.

Genealogy eBook Collection

Search across 800 titles in genealogy and family history, including records from Colonial America to the Civil War as well as a large selection of how-to books. In addition, access many titles that relate to specific ancestral ethnicities. See our guide to the collection for information on creating an account and tips for searching within multiple eBooks.

General OneFile

Full-text periodicals, newspapers, major reference sources, audio and video files focusing on business, current events, popular culture, sports, and entertainment.


Listings starting with H

HelpNow from Brainfuse

Take practice tests, live online tutoring, access a rich library of study tools, submit written work for review, join classmates/colleagues in virtual meeting rooms for collaborative learning.

HeritageHub

From Newsbank – Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images.

HeritageQuest

Online database of over 25,000 books, the U.S. Census (1790-1930), and many other collections created for professional and amateur genealogists. Users can find information on their ancestors as well as information on American culture.


Listings starting with J

JobNow from Brainfuse

Practice interviewing with an online coach, submit your resume to be reviewed by an expert, and/or search for a job.


Listings starting with L

Legal Forms

Official state, federal, business, personal, real estate, and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Libertyville Newspapers

Search or browse the Lake County Independent (1894-1906), Lake County Independent/Waukegan Weekly Sun (1906-1916), Libertyville Independent (1916-1927) and Lake County Register (1923-1927). Additional years are available on microfilm at the Cook Park Library.

LinkedIn Learning

Access over 16,000 expert-led courses in multiple languages. Earn certificates of completion as you learn new business, technology, and creative skills. Log in using your Cook Library account password (PIN) and card number.

Mobile App Available. Library ID = cmpld. 

Literature Resource Center

Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors and titles from every age and literary discipline.


Listings starting with M

Mango Languages

Learn a new language by listening and repeating phrases from real life conversations. Languages include Spanish, French, Italian, Greek, Russian, Chinese, Hindi, Korean, Polish and Japanese.
Mobile App Available*

Medline

Citations and abstracts for articles in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

Medline Plus

The National Library of Medicine’s site for consumers – includes directories of doctors and dentists as well as in-depth information on diseases, conditions and treatments in multiple languages.

Morningstar

Data and analyst reports on mutual funds and stocks.


Listings starting with N

New York Times

Read the current day’s paper or search for articles. Requires a one-time account set up with library card, email address and password.

Home Access
| In Library Access

Newspapers.com

An extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers.

Newspapers.com Library Edition

An extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers. For a listing of local newspapers in this database, see our Local History page.

Novelist K-8 Plus

Reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for kids in grades K-8.


Listings starting with P

Peterson’s Test Prep

Testing assistance powered by Peterson’s for standardized AP/college prep tests, career certification, citizenship tests, and other exams. Research college/graduate schools and tuition assistance. Get advice on careers, resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking. Brush up on basic reading, writing, and math skills.

PressReader

More than 6,000 newspapers and magazines from more than 100 countries in 60+ languages, including Los Angeles Times, The Guardian, Chicago Tribune, etc.
Mobile App Available*

Public Records Electronic Database

Search public records for new home purchases, new business starts, foreclosures, sales, and bankruptcies for Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties in Illinois.

Home Access
| In Library Access


Listings starting with S

Sanborn Maps

In-Library Use Only

Large scale plans of a city or town drawn to the scale of 50 feet to an inch. Features an archive of maps from 1867-1970.

Scholastic GO!

More than 115,000 articles from seven Scholastic encyclopedias: Americana, Grolier Multimedia, The New Book of Knowledge, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, Amazing Animals of the World, and The New Book of Popular Science.

Science in Context

Contains hundreds of today’s most significant science topics, showcasing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues.

SIRS Discoverer

For elementary and middle school students; includes thousands of selected magazine and newspaper articles and U.S. government documents on a wide variety of subjects and current events.

SIRS Researcher

For high school students; includes thousands of full-text articles from newspapers and magazines on social, scientific, historical, political, and economic issues, plus World Almanac excerpts, maps of the world, and current event information.

Standard & Poor’s Net Advantage

Combines eleven Standard and Poor’s investment products including Stock Reports, the Outlook, Industry Surveys, Bond Guide, and Mutual Funds.

Start Up Business Binder (PDF)

A one-stop-shop info guide for entrepreneurs getting into business. Get your business questions answered and connect with local entrepreneur support networks in Lake County, IL. This informational guide is designed to help prospective and early-stage entrepreneurs hit the ground running.

Student Resources in Context

Essays; full-text magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; as well as photographs and other resources for students in grades 6 through 12.


Listings starting with T

Tax Information

Compiled by CMPLD librarians. Includes links to federal and state forms, resources for help, and free AARP tax appointment information.

TrueFLIX

Videos are paired with books about real-life events and topics, including disasters, space, and the human body. Each book can be listened to as well as read. For grades 3 through 6.


Listings starting with U

U.S. History in Context

Complete overview of U.S. history, full-text articles from respected reference sources, video and audio clips, and more than 5,000 primary source documents.

US Geological Survey

From the the science arm of the Department of the Interior, science-based information on ecosystems, land use, energy and mineral resources, natural hazards, water use and availability, and updated maps and images of the Earth’s features.


Listings starting with V

Value Line

Investment advice on the stock market industries and the economy.


Listings starting with W

Wall Street Journal

Read the current day’s paper or search for articles. You will need to create an account and renew access every 3 days.

World Book Advanced

For high school students; articles, primary sources, and online books. Access worldwide news publications and thousands of government websites.

World Book Discover

Easy-to-read articles on topics of interest for reluctant readers, ELL, ESL, and adult literacy students. Offers text-to-speech feature and automatic translation into 14 languages. Includes practical Life Skills section.

World Book Dramatic Learning

Classroom plays and reader’s theater promote independent learning and group collaboration. Includes activities, mini-inquiry projects, and self-assessment tools.

World Book Early World of Learning

For pre-schoolers and children in early grades; uses narrated stories and interactive games to help youngsters build vocabulary, comprehension, and phonics fluency.

WorldCat

Search the collections of thousands of libraries in the United States and around the world using this global catalog.


*When using mobile apps, first create a profile in the website version of the database, then install the app and authenticate with the library profile you created.

Cook Memorial Public Library District

Install Cook Memorial Public Library District

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”