Skip to content

Today's Hours: Tue: 9 am – 9 pm

View Hours

Mon – Thu: 9 am – 9 pm
Fri: 9 am – 6 pm
Sat: 9 am – 5 pm
Sun: 12 – 5 pm

View Closures

Erica’s Pick of the Week: Termination Shock

Climate fiction — stories dealing with the repercussions of climate change — has been increasingly popular in recent years. From award-winning literary fiction to young adult thrillers, the fallout from global warming and changing weather patterns has given authors plenty to work with. Naturally, science fiction is a natural fit for these types of books, and Neal Stephenson’s latest, Termination Shock, is a prescient, inventive addition — a globe hopping adventure that starts with feral hogs and only gets wilder from there, perfect for fans of Charles Stross, William Gibson, or who like their sci-fi heavy on the science.

When the Queen of the Netherlands visits a Texas squillionaire with an audacious plan to geo-engineer a solution to global warming, it sets off a cascade of events that brings together a cast of unlikely characters — the Queen, her senior advisor, the Squillionaire, a hog-hunter, a Chinese spy, Venetian semi-nobility, and a Canadian Sikh with a knack for stick fighting. More importantly, it asks the question: How can we be sure the solution to a crisis is worth the cost? And who gets to decide?

Neal Stephenson is known for writing immersive worlds rooted in cutting-edge technology, and Termination Shock is no exception. Set in a near-future world wracked by climate disasters, pandemics, and global instability, it’s an all-too-plausible scenario. Fortunately, It’s also filled with technology that is (barely) holding off the worst of the disasters: multifunctional drones, smartphone-based contact tracing, climate-controlled clothing, among other inventions. Even the squillionaire’s geo-engineering technology is not wildly far-fetched or complicated.  It’s not the most reassuring future one can imagine, but it is incredibly compelling.

Stephenson’s trademark curiosity and dry wit are on full display. I had not anticipated learning about deepfakes, falconry, the Line of Actual Control, or ovine genetics, but I did, and often found myself snort-laughing about it. The various narrators are distinctive, but they share a sly, world-weary humor well suited to their crisis-ridden lives, and watching the disparate threads of their stories come together for the grand finale is a treat that had me turning the pages faster and faster.

For all of the world building and technology, however, the book isn’t really about geo-engineering  — it’s about the fallout. It’s about ripple effects and power struggles and the calculus of self-preservation in an interconnected world. And in the end, it’s a surprisingly hopeful look at a situation that so often feels hopeless. Human ingenuity can save us, Termination Shock tells us — if we don’t forget the human part.

Categories: Books and More

Cook Memorial Public Library District

Install Cook Memorial Public Library District

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”